It’s Time. a.k.a My first installment of “Thankful Thursdays”

There’s so much going on in my life right now. However, I feel like that’s all the more reason for me to start getting some of my thoughts out of my head and put down somewhere. This blog that I’ve had for years and have never updated seems like as good a place as any.

Today is Thursday, April 3. That means last Thursday was March 27, 2014. It was a rough day. For starters, I was at my grandfather’s bedside as he took his last breath. 9:15am. I won’t lie, I cried. At the same time, I knew then and know now that he’s in such a better place. I am so sad that my relationship with him on this earth is over. I’m not at all sad for him. I know he was loved while he was here and that where he is now, he’s more loved than I can imagine. Truthfully, I’m happy for him. 

About five hours after Papa passed I received my first text message asking what was going on with some of my best friends who live out of state. Because I’m not on Facebook, I didn’t realize people had been posting condolences to their walls for the past few hours. Some friends and I quickly began to get an idea of what was going on and it wasn’t good. Their six month old daughter was in a car accident and she didn’t make it through. Six months. Just the opposite of what had happened with my 86 year old grandfather hours before. I celebrated for him. I loved the thought of his full and rich life coming to a peaceful close with his family around him. This sweet little girl didn’t have those same opportunities. Her parents wouldn’t be able to watch her take her first steps, take ballet lessons or play softball, learn to drive, go to Prom, or walk down the aisle to her groom. Her life had seemingly ended before it really began. 

But you don’t know my friends … they lost their daughter that afternoon but her life will not be in vain and her story will touch more lives than I think I can even imagine now. You see, her dad preached the eulogy at her Memorial Service on Sunday afternoon. I’ve had permanent goosebumps on my arms since that sermon. He spoke of missing out on watching his daughter grow up but of the joy he has knowing that she has joined her groom, Christ and that He has the right to call any of us home when He’s ready. He told us (quoting John Piper) that suffering is not meaningless and that his daughter’s death wouldn’t be either. He preached the Gospel and left me with tears of joy for this sweet little girl. He also left me in awe of himself and his bride. Don’t get me wrong, they’ve been two of our closest friends for six or seven years now. I’ve always known that they’re amazing. But this day took it to a whole new level.

I’ve been reading through the Bible using D.A. Carson’s “For the Love of God” Blog via The Gospel Coalition. One of the readings (for Philippians 3) ended with this encouragement … “So follow someone who follows Christ; follow a pilgrim who insists that you live up to what you have already attained, and then press for more.” I’m so thankful that I have these friends in my life. Friends who are real people, they make mistakes, share their struggles, and continue to trust that the Lord is working in them to further His kingdom.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

